Farmers Awards

RSS Twitter Facebook

The Awards

The Farmers Weekly Awards recognise and reward farmers for innovation, commitment to the industry and hard work.

The Awards showcase the best farmers in the country by telling their stories. They aim to spread best practice, inspire others and influence the public about the role that farmers play in today’s society.

The categories now include Farm Employer of the Year and Sustainable Farmer of the Year.

The entry deadline is Tuesday 5th May at midnight.

Past Winners Awards Night

The Categories

There are 15 categories available to enter plus a Farming Champion Award, selected by the NFU and Farmers Weekly.

From the 15 categories, an overall Farmer of the Year is also selected by the judges.

The 2014 Awards introduced two new categories - Farm Employer of the Year and Sustainable Farmer of the Year.

Farm Employer of the Year reflects the professional approach that farming businesses now employ to secure skilled staff, efficient production and strong relationships with their customers and buyers. This is at the heart of attracting the brightest and best in the industry. A well trained and ambition team are at the heart of every successful commercial business - farming is no different.

Sustainable Farmer of the Year showcases what so many farming businesses are now doing to protect precious natural resources, nurture wildlife and biodiversity and minimise the impact of farm production methods on the countryside. This new category is looking for individuals who are embracing fully integrated methods of production and green energy in order to deliver a business that is fully sustainable.

You can nominate a farmer who you think deserves recognition or you can enter the awards yourself directly.

The Award categories:

You can nominate someone or enter one of 15 categories

Category Sponsor
Arable Farmer of the Year  TBC
Beef Farmer of the Year McDonald's
Contractor of the Year JCB
Dairy Farmer of the Year Keenan
Diversification Farmer of the Year AgriBank
Farm Employer of the Year Safety Revolution
Farm Adviser Of the Year Koch Advanced Nitrogen® fertilizer
Farm Manager of the Year Claas UK
Farmworker of the Year Isuzu
Local Food Farmer of the Year  TBC
Pig Farmer of the Year  TBC
Poultry Farmer of the Year TBC
Sheep Farmer of the Year  TBC
Sustainable Farmer of the Year Bridgestone
Young Farmer of the Year Tesco
Farming Champion NFU
Lifetime Achievement Santander

From this group the judges select the Farmer of the Year

Lifetime Achievement Award – chosen by the Awards director

Farming Champion Award – selected by the NFU and Farmers Weekly

Five reasons to enter

  • Recognition for you, your family and your team
  • Opens doors to new industry contacts, clients and supplier deals
  • Valuable PR and marketing for your business
  • Greater business confidence and negotiating power
  • The chance to experience the best night out in farming for you and your partner

But don’t just take our word from it. Here’s what last year’s overall winner said:

Poul Hoveson, 2014 Arable Farmer & Farmer of the Year

“Winning the award was a tremendous honour not only for me but for the businesses with which I am associated.

It has opened up opportunities to access the advances being made in research and development within the industry.

The whole experience has been very rewarding for me personally.”



Nominations now open for 2015

You can nominate someone or enter a category yourself.


Entries open

Entry forms for 2015 available to apply by post or online.


Entry closing date

You must have your entry in by midnight on Tuesday 5th May.



The shortlist for the 2015 Awards will be announced on May 30.



The judging takes place from June to August 2015


Awards ceremony 2015

The 2015 Awards night ceremony and winners announced.